New Sanctions?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Sanctions?

So I checked the AMTA website and it appears that two more sanctions have been issued since last year that they haven't issued statements on. I think it's a positive development that they've started issuing statements on sanctions so programs better understand how to follow AMTA rules and what kinds of violations should be reported. Does anyone know any of the details surrounding the September 12 or January 9 sanctions, and does anyone know why AMTA didn't issue statements on them like they did for the improper invention sanctions last year?

If I had to guess (I have no first hand knowledge of why they have chosen to post explanations for some sanctions and not for others), I'd say that it isn't that they have decided not to issue statements about the Jan 9 and Sept 12 sanctions for some particular reason, its that the ones last spring were special and they issues special statements about those and these were just a return to normal form. AMTA has never issued statements for general misconduct outside of rounds (case access, bad behavior, etc). That makes me think that the statements released last year were a special case. We know that there is particular concern on the board that people don't understand the invention rules (there was even a motion this summer to have them clarified). So they would make a point of making statements about violations of those rules to clarify them (and also probably to make an example since we've seen a rise in high profile teams inventing things recently). I'm guessing there just isn't as much widespread concern on the board that people don't understand the case access/ineligible competitor rules (whether that's justified or not is another matter).

Comment